Is ICT accelerating extinction of our local languages

Our local languages are facing extinction in Zimbabwe. Our educational, political, ICT policies have promoted English to a high status. In academia if one fails English that person cannot proceed with his studies until he passes English. Even if one fails English but passes all other subjects including his native language subject, a student cannot proceed to a higher level.
Now as internet technologies spread English language is emerging as the hegemony online. There is no meaningful material online written in our major local languages. Our local languages are now only evoked to make jokes and satirical writings on facebook . Whilst I can type close to fifty words per minute in English I can hardly type 15 words in Shona or in any of our local languages. Because of the strict regard for English in the country I make every effort to try to understand how to speak, read or write it. This means sacrificing my vernacular language to do everything to learn English as without it I cannot proceed further. Today I tried reading my nephew vernacular setbook but I abandoned the book after realizing that after thirty minutes non stop reading I was still on page seven. What makes my vernacular language hard to read or write but simple to speak? Its easier for me to write a blog post in English than in my local language. I can read close to hundred English webpages per day but cannot read more than fifteen pages of information written in my vernacular language in a day. What are the reasons?
About two years ago Google started offering some of its search services in three of Zimbabwe popular languages namely Shona, Ndebele and Chichewa. However I must admit that I do not access Google in my native language even if it if offered by Google. My first switch to Google in Shona (patois) only lasted five minute.

Leave a Reply

